Facebook

NaPoWriMo Day#3: Write a Sea Shanty

Since I have no idea how to write one, I’ve written a poem expressing my current state of mind. 

 

Facebook! I hate you!

You officially murdered my best friend Privacy

And replaced her with your minions

Wall posts, tags and pages.

 

Facebook! I hate you!

You shot my brother Effort

Now, no longer do people call

On birthdays, holidays or days in between

No! Why is all that necessary

When you provide them with my wall

For them to wish me, or better yet

The privilege to tag me in

Some ready made greeting card picture.

 

Facebook! I hate you! You fed Ego

And now she cannot be eradicated

As people post who they’re with,

Where they are with who they’re with

What they’re doing where they are with who they’re with

And how they’re having the time of their lives

Doing what they’re doing where they are with who they’re with.

 

Facebook! I hate you!

I wish I could strangle you!

Smear tar on all those edited photos!

Scream back at all those fake comments!

Block people from tagging me

And whitewash my wall clean.

 

Facebook! I hate you!

I wish I could put you in a tiny box

And throw you into a bottomless sea.

Then I’ll go to sleep, knowing

That Privacy and Effort

Can finally rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

