My Dear Stalker

NaPoWriMo Day#10: Write an un-love poem

Un-love poem as defined by http://www.napowrimo.net :An un-love poem isn’t a poem of hate, exactly — that might be a bit too shrill or boring. It’s more like a poem of sarcastic dislike.

I know this poem is kinda mean. But it’s more out of hatred for myself for never being able to say no than for the person I write about. The person’s pretty okay. The last stanza basically explains why the person irks me. So here goes:

I enter the room and see your smile

Your eyes glimmer eagerly, now that your prey’s here

I find a seat somewhere near the window

You rush to occupy the seat next to me

You start talking, I try to cut you off

But because I can never say no,

You can drone on and on.

Once I get out, you follow me, throwing

A thousand questions in my direction,

“Where are you going?” “Why?”

And finally, the dreaded, “Shall I come too?”

Spineless, mute, I nod submissively

I see your teeth sparkling and I feel faint.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate you.

I just wish you would understand

That I need to be alone sometimes

That I have other friends too

And that I could use a little less of you.

Leave a Reply

