Mr. Politician

NaPoWriMo Day#20: Write a poem with at least 5 words from the list given

Words I used: squander, mercurial, abscond, gutter, curl, ghost, ego

The first time I met you

You were seated on your throne

Squandering the choice the people had made

With your mercurial temper

And your flapping, flattering tongue.

Later I heard, you had absconded

With their money and trust.

Today I passed by you,

Lying curled up in the gutter

A ghost of your former self,

And I pitied you, for you

Still couldn’t let go of your ego.

Leave a Reply

