Hunger

I walked in
The crowd rose to greet me
Clapping, greedy for my words
I saw the hunger in their eyes
Wild, cruel, never satiated
I realized how my hunger 
Was now the nation’s desire
I saw the monster in their eyes
And my stomach growled
Their cries made me hungrier
As my mind yelled, “more!”

And then I remembered the other hunger
The one in the camps
Stifled, silent, terrified
I saw it in their eyes
The starvation to live
And to see me dead

Later, their dead eyes stayed with me
Feeding my hunger,
And making it grow.

3 thoughts on “Hunger

  1. Pingback: Unemployment and Hunger and Root Beer Floats and Strangers and Friends – slimegreen

  2. Pingback: Hunger | Barefoot on Rainy Days

Leave a Reply

