Too Long Now

I’ve been burning under the sun for too long now

The sounds of everyday life have stifled my song

But when the sun sets tonight, I’ll sing out loud

Don’t ask me to be quiet, I’ve been silent for too long now.

 

I’ve been walking too fast for too long now

The loud echo of footsteps have stopped me from thinking

But when dusk sets in, I’ll dance around in circles

Don’t ask me to stop, I’ve been walking straight for too long now.

 

I’ve been watching and waiting for too long now

This chair has been the abode of my laziness

But when the moon comes out. I’ll stand upright

Don’t ask me to fall, I’ve been down for too long now.

 

I’ve been swayed by the world for too long now

The shouts of others have muted my heartbeat

But when the stars appear, I’ll listen to its thumping

Don’t ask me to smother it, I’ve been deaf for too long now.

 

I’ve been put out and pulled down for too long now

The contempt of the world has made my soul cry

But when the night reigns, I’ll break out into laughter

Don’t ask me to be sober, I’ve been dead for too long now.

Leave a Reply

