Dreams

My dreams got frozen suddenly one day

I tried to rescue them from the cold

But the ice was too thick to crack open

And I watched helplessly as 

Warm hopes turned to cold corpses,

Dead before they could even begin to live.

 

My eyes burned with fiery tears

And I hit the wall of ice with the weight

Of all that had died within me.

The ice shattered into a million pieces

And in the few moments before the sun

Swallowed up these shiny teardrops,

I felt what it was like to be happy

For one last time.

2 thoughts on “Dreams

Leave a Reply

