Old Books

Old Books

Daily Prompt: How do you pick what blogs or books to read? What’s the one thing that will get you to pick up a book or click on a link every single time?

I try to seek you out

But you elude my reach

And then I find you, (or

Is it you that finds me?)

In the most unusual places

Behind shelves I see everyday

In a dark, obscure corner of a quiet library

In the corridor shelf of a tidy home

In second hand sales, and sometimes

An unknowing friend gives me you.

 

Whatever it is, I can never resist

The feel of you on my fingertips

The smell of your yellowed pages

The crowded scribbling on your margins

A dedication inscribed on the front page.

 

I don not know why people always want

Things that are new, unused and white

When it is so much more exciting 

To hold something in you hands

Which was once loved, but then discarded

Which was once lost, but is now found

And which never hoped to tell its secrets

For one more time, and was resigned to die

Before it met your eager eyes.

9 thoughts on “Old Books

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Photographs and beautiful words | viver para contar

  2. Pingback: How do you pick what blogs or books to read? | Processing the life

  3. Pingback: Stop staring at her boobs! | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Reading Material | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Books that Glimmer | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: Picking a Blog to Read | Sogna Grandezza

  7. Pingback: His Dark Reading Materials | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

