Phone Call

Phone Call

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright. 

Dedication: To my father, who always wanted me to write a poem about him, which I kept refusing, saying I can write only depressing stuff. Here’s your poem:

I thought I liked silences.

I thought I liked being alone.

These days seem determined

To prove me quite wrong.

With lots of work to do,

I find myself unable to enjoy

The serenity of the place, and

Instead, concentrate only on 

The all-enveloping loneliness.

 

Some days, it’s easy to be strong

And to put on a brave face and smile.

But what do you do on days, when

There’s no one to see you’ve tried?

Do you finally weep and cry, or keep

Holding on, hoping someone’s still watching?

 

After a day of feeling empty, 

With my tears threatening to flow,

My phone suddenly rings, and when

I pick up, my father’s cheerful voice

Answers, shattering the silence,

Shattering the loneliness,

And letting me know I was loved.

 

2 thoughts on “Phone Call

  1. …. so wonderfully, you have touched our hearts, yet again ! …. we love you, darling, always will … You, Roseann & Tessa, are our greatest blessings God has bestowed on us ! …. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

