The Mole on my Neck

The Mole on my Neck

Have you ever been addicted to anything, or worried that you were? Have you ever spent too much time and effort on something that was a distraction from your real goals? Tell us about it.

 

The mole on my neck looked

Like a flattened black bug,

Glued to the same spot for years.

 

My eyes raced to the spot where it was

Every time I faced the dreadful mirror.

Soon, I had a permanent place facing it,

Staring at the mole, screaming at it to disappear.

 

The mole was my constant companion

I could never be alone: trips to the mall,

A long ride, even when I sat on the closet.

 

The mole was a bug, a constant irritant

I tried to be a good listener, adjusting

My facial expressions to match the situation,

But the mole snickered at me that I had to laugh.

When I laughed, it hissed at me venomously

Every time I cried, it laughed out of spite. 

 

People found me weird because my eyes

Were always trained on the mole.

I talked to it, screamed and cried

They couldn’t understand, they said,

The mole was microscopic, but for me,

It was my entire dark universe.

 

The day I had it removed

I felt naked and alone

It hit me how huge

The world was, and suddenly,

I wanted it to shrink to the size

Of that mole which looked like a bug.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Mole on my Neck

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Things I can’t get enough of… | Processing the life

  3. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s outlook on addiction | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

