The Magical Street

The Magical Street

What’s the strangest place from which you’ve posted to your blog? When was the last time you were out and about, and suddenly thought, “I need to write about this!”?

I always write from my room, so I’m not going to answer the first question. But here’s the answet to the second:

I walk back after visiting a friend.

The wise part of my head tells me

That I should have rode on a rick,

But I chose to listen to the other part.

A long time had passed since I’d last

Been impulsive, and today, I missed that.

 

The streets: so familiar and ordinary

In the day, were alluring and mysterious

Now, lit up by dussehra lights and shop lamps

I walk, my heart thudding gently, my senses alert

To any sort of danger ready to pounce on me.

 

I walk slowly, my eyes lingering 

On the coloured lights and the

Dark corners covered by trees

Did the night colour so ordinary

A street so magical now?

Or was it my exciting fear,

Which lent it this allure?

 

It was a strange place,

This street at night. 

I felt alone, and I realized

With a sudden smile

That it made me happy. 

3 thoughts on “The Magical Street

  1. Pingback: Blogging away from home | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger in a Strange Land | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Blogger in a Strange Land | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

