Hunger

Hunger

Write a post in the style of (or simply inspired by) a favorite author.

 

I’ve already done this on 28th May: https://barefootonrainydays.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/hunger/

Here’s the poem I wrote then, which was inspired by Jayanta Mahapatra’s poem of the same title:

 

I walked in
The crowd rose to greet me
Clapping, greedy for my words
I saw the hunger in their eyes
Wild, cruel, never satiated
I realized how my hunger 
Was now the nation’s desire
I saw the monster in their eyes
And my stomach growled
Their cries made me hungrier
As my mind yelled, “more!”

And then I remembered the other hunger
The one in the camps
Stifled, silent, terrified
I saw it in their eyes
The starvation to live
And to see me dead

Later, their dead eyes stayed with me
Feeding my hunger,
And making it grow.

7 thoughts on “Hunger

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Imitation/Flattery | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Big Bad Wolf | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Imitation/Flattery | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: To Be or Not: is Imitation Flattery? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: A Dirty, Poorly-Lighted Place (Hemingway) | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Form of Flattery, the Swiss Voting Day and where’s the Grid? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Ernest James | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

Leave a Reply

