The Street Light

The street was empty, dark and desolate

Its quietness whispered something only I could hear,

And spellbound, I soaked in the colour of the night. 

 

The cold light from the ATM in the corner

And the occasional blinking car speeding by

Reminds me where I am, and my fear

Takes the colour of the street light:

A dull yellow, used to shining every night.

 

Yet, my legs refuse to move faster.

I pause for a moment, and shut my eyes,

Feeling the November cold brushing my ears. 

I block out the lights, the cars, until I feel

The magical perfection of the night,

In a way I can never feel when my eyes are open,

When my fear shines dully, like the street light.

 

 

One thought on “The Street Light

  1. Pingback: A Foggy Nighttime Walk: 2013 365 Challenge #316 | writermummy

Leave a Reply

