Bluff

Bluff

You’re set to play poker (or Scrabble or something else . . .) with a group of four. Write a story set during this game. Or, describe the ideal match: the players, the relationships — and the hidden rivalries.

 

We sit around the round table,

Which gives you the illusion that

We are equal, while I know the truth:

I’m so much superior.

 

One of you shuffle the cards

And deal it with amateur hands

I watch you peek at your cards expectantly

And laugh when I think how easily

I will win this game. 

 

We play, you place your cards eagerly

I watch the innocence in your eyes,

And feel a sickening pity for you

Because you still believe in fair play.

 

My face is expressionless when my turn comes\

You look into my eyes and trust implicitly, 

Never realizing that I will always play you,

That I’ll bluff once again. and once again,

I’ll win.

5 thoughts on “Bluff

  1. Pingback: Checkers | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | BulgingButtons

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: The perfect game | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: How To Win At Scrabble | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

