Paradise Lost and Some Thoughts

Paradise Lost and Some Thoughts

A week long holiday. The college is almost empty.

Books in hand, I step out

To enjoy the last smiling breezes of spring

Before it is cruelly extinguished

By the summer sun.

 

Under the cafe tree I sit,

My head trying to concentrate

On Satan’s seduction of Eve in Paradise Lost.

But the debate of good and evil

Seemed so hard to believe 

In a world coloured with

Different, brilliant shades of grey.

 

I close my book.

The question of Free Will

Seemed distant as I watch

Dry leaves being tossed around

By the wind.

 

Adam and Eve’s folly seems distant,

Yet their loss familiar. 

Could I trace back my mistakes

To the day Eve’s hand reached for that fruit?

Or was it just in me, to be so imperfect?

 

I close my eyes,

And the questions suddenly stop.

Everything becomes clear suddenly:

I am here, this moment is mine,

I feel happy, it may not last, but it exists now.

I will enjoy this moment, I can cry tomorrow. 

8 thoughts on “Paradise Lost and Some Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: I Don’t Believe | Knowledge Addiction

  3. Pingback: I Believe | A New Life Wandering

  4. Pingback: What I Know for Sure | 365 Days of Thank You

  5. Pingback: Believe Me You | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 75] I believe… | Never A Worry

  7. Pingback: I believe… | MsMissyLeigh

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

