What is my Voice?

BlogHer prompt for September 5: Do you feel you have found your voice on your blog? What techniques have you tried to develop your voice in your writing? What are some characteristics of your personality in your writing?

What is my voice?

.

The one that smiles happily when friends talk

Or lowers eyes when a stranger walks by?

.

Is it the sound of my rushed footsteps as I get ready every morning

Or the silent treads that find its way to my bed at night?

.

Is my voice in the words that roll off my tongue carelessly and cruelly

Or the stutter I am too nervous to complete, much less for you to comprehend?

.

Will my voice sound like the laughter of children playing with balloons

Or the old lady who just doesn’t find a seat in the metro?

.

Do the words I say matter more,

Or the pauses between each word?

.

Is my voice the public one I use everyday

Or is it the private scared and excited one

That shyly clicks, “create post” and smiles?

Leave a Reply

