Goodbye Television

NaPoWriMo Day#3: Write a fourteener, a poem with each line consisting of 14 syllables.

Prompt from http://www.napowrimo.net

.

Beneath the neem tree, towards the gleaming water I run

Away from your grip, your hollow talk and dull dirty eyes

My feet rush faster as my mind tries to forget all the

Minutes, the hours, the days, and most important, the moments

You took away from me, my brain too numb, too weary to

Realize how limited my time at home was, how short,

Shorter than your one twenty second advertisement break.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Television

  1. “Realize how limited my time at home was, how short,
    Shorter than your one twenty second advertisement break.”
    Concise, and articulate, even though I have mixed feelings about the outdoors, this was thoroughly enjoyable. Prompts are interesting. When your writing is caged, it turns into things you would never expect it to 🙂

    • Yes, it’s hard to push myself to write when my head feels blank, and prompts certainly give a direction to that blankness. And this specific outdoors I love..It’s just outside my house

Leave a Reply

