Melancholy

What a beautiful word to describe drowning.

.

I saw the lights blinking goodbye

As my plane started off from Mumbai

They looked like lit up rivers bordering

Deep, murky, blue tracts of land.

Then the plane carried me higher up

Now the lights were golden and silver stars

And I was watching galaxies twinkle on earth –

Or maybe they were startled fireworks

Frozen for eternity in an upside down sky.

.

Then the lights disappeared, the dark sea was below.

I could feel its depths, I could hear it moaning.

I trembled with the knowledge that in a moment of agony

Its arms could submerge the lights.

.

I felt the ocean within me

Its rage settled beneath my frail ribs

I was drowning in melancholy

The lights shone still.

 

Leave a Reply

