35

How do I love you

I do not know you, and

You push my hands away

When I stroke your hair

.

When I love you

you say you will live only till 35

you retreat into your rings of smoke

your eyes glaze, and i am scared to ask

if you are here, or if i am just a body.

.

I know I can’t make you see me

what is more scary – that you do not know

the names of my loves, the reasons for my laughter,

or that you never want to find out?

or that i will never know?

.

how will i love you, when you

are waiting to die, how will i look into your eyes

when you hide mine with your one hand

while the other wraps me closer?

.

when i think of loving you,

i hear echoes of thirty five

and feel smaller than the numbers

you scribbled carelessly for the last six years

before giving up on them, to turn to running.

 

 

Leave a Reply

