Sisters

Day#2 of IntrotoPoetry

Prompt: Face

Device: Alliteration

 I think I used alliteration a bit too much, but, whatever.

 

Giggling, getting in the way

Treading on my temples

Without worry. Never weary –

Tempted to tranquilize you every day.

.

Now when I think of beauty,

The two of you march into my mind

Comfortable in the confidence

I cannot cut you into two –

Not when you’re just in my head.

.

Your backs bent

And smiles solemn

Creating imaginary worlds

On papers pressed with love

.

Loquacious and laughing

Long car rides blasting the bass

Our singing never spectacular,

Amma thought otherwise.

.

In sleep you bordered on sweet

Deceptive angels entangling arms

The softness would fade when you woke

For now, silence sighed in the house.

.

When I think of beauty

The both of you come to mind

Sweet, smiling, snakelike.

The debate to love or kill

Will regularly ruin my mind

There’s no denying

Your faces show a beauty and maturity

I have forever failed to grasp.

 

Leave a Reply

