First Impressions

Day#3 of IntrotoPoetry

Prompt: Friend

Form: Acrostic

I’ve used both the prompt and form, and yet, this poem was very very easy to write. 

 

A story reached me before I met her; our

Neighbour and her roommate told it to us

I laughed at the first impression she gave:

The image of her trying to break a rod

Had left her roommate stunned, to say the least.

And now, when I think of all the contradictions

She is made up of; I go back to this image of her –

Rod in one hand, knife in another, relentless

Ever busy to work, to fix things

Ever ready to love.

Leave a Reply

